top of page

ANNABELLE BUTLER

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Annabelle Butler

Week One Down!

Updated: Feb 13, 2019

What a roller coaster week it was! On Friday I touched down in Dallas, where I spent the night adjusting to the time change. Then, on Saturday morning, I headed back to the Dallas airport to catch my flight to Manhattan, Kansas. I had been told that Dr Nichols, my point of contact for my studies and in general, would be on the same flight as me back to Manhattan. This resulted in some darting eyes around the gate to try and figure out who I was looking for, and after a classic 'are you..?', big hellos and welcomes were had all round. I then met a few of the Collegiate Cattlemen group and a number of other university alumni, associates and local Manhattan ranchers. This was a great way to start my journey!


Once we had touched down in Manhattan, Dr Nichols was kind enough to take me for lunch and begin the back and forth questioning to learn about one another. I was then checked in to Jardine Apartments, an on campus housing facility that was to be my base for the next few months. Dr Nichols and his wife later picked me up for dinner at a popular Mexican restaurant, where we ate enchiladas and drank $5 martinis and long island iced teas that were at least the size of my head! I was dropped back to Jardine where I spent the rest of the weekend walking around campus, unpacking and acclimatising myself to the US.


Jardine Apartments

Monday started in a hurry, with instructions to attend my first Beef Science class in Weber Hall at 8:30am. After asking a few people and a few quick laps of the building, I made it to the classroom, and started learning as soon as Dr Olson began the class. After class, I met with Dr Nichols to determine the best classes for me to attend, which included Beef Science, Cow-Calf Health, Farm Animal Reproduction, Livestock and Meat Evaluation, Livestock Sales, Animal Breeding and Beef Systems. I couldn't believe how good these classes sounded! Off I went to my next class, and after a big day of finding classrooms, meeting the professors and trying to stay warm, I was exhausted! Only adding to the exhaustion was some of the coldest weather I have experienced in my life - I'm glad I managed to fit my big coat in!


Tuesday came just as quickly as Monday had, with the highlight of the day being a guest lecture from Mr John Butler. Mr Butler is the CEO of the Beef Marketing Group, a cooperative looking to create an efficient and sustainable beef supply chain. Mr Butler gave such a thought-provoking speech that I was determined to spend more time with him and learn more about his operation - stay tuned.


Wednesday also provided a new learning experience in Livestock and Meat Evaluation. We started off looking at the EPD's (estimated progeny differences) of four hereford heifers, and went through what each trait meant for that particular animal and the industry in general. We then took this information from the classroom to Weber arena, an indoor arena in the same building, to where those four hereford heifers stood waiting for us. We then proceeded to 'judge' the class and worked in groups to come up with questions about the class. Going through the questions was almost as good as the opportunity to judge the class, and I learnt a bit about herefords in the process!

Demonstration on how to correctly pull a calf and how to deal with calving issues - Beef Science


Thursday was also a highlight, with the Beef Systems class climbing aboard two mini buses to drive to Fink Genetics ranch on the outskirts of Manhattan. This was my first experience in a sale barn and did they have a good set up! The class had the pleasure of meeting Galen and Lori Fink, as well as daughter Megan, who all have a key role in the family's business. The story of how the family started in 1977 with one cow and no land, and have grown to an operation selling around 400 bulls per year was incredible. Through pushing the boundaries and claiming a number of 'firsts' in the US beef industry, such as the first producer to provide a 3 year 'warranty' on their sale bulls, the Fink family have succeeded again and again. Before departing the Fink ranch, Galen gave an inspiring spiel on life skills and lessons that he wished he knew at our age, all while we enjoyed some K-State ice-cream and homemade cookies! I left the ranch feeling uplifted and feeling as though these were people that I would just have to see again.


Classes were just as good on Friday, but my day only got better when I spoke with Debbie Lyons-Blythe, a local rancher I met in the Dallas airport, who offered me the chance to visit their family ranch. I jumped at the opportunity and 2 hours later we were chatting our way to White City, Kansas. From the second I got in Debbie's car, I had nothing but generosity, humour and kindness from her and her family. We enjoyed a big family dinner with 3 out of her 5 children and talked late into the night about all things Australia, particularly taxes, superannuation and investments with Duane, Debbie's banker husband. The next morning we rose and headed into the tiny town of White City (population 400 people), to enjoy an annual breakfast put on by the local church group. Although I stuck with the basic eggs, potato and sausages, almost everyone else was chowing down on biscuits and gravy, which turned out to be scones and gravy! I was glad I steered clear of that one! We all headed back to the Blythe home where I gave Debbie a hand cooking for one of her sons' hunting group, who were out on a hunt that morning, which included a butterfinger pie! Debbie's son raises wild pheasants which were then released for hunting with dogs and guns. Not something I think I would enjoy, but interesting to learn about all the same.


Butterfinger Pie!

The day really started after lunch, where we met a vet student, Brittany, and some of the Blythe kids to work the cows. This involved bringing all the cows into the yards using the feed truck (used to feed the cattle each day through winter) and vehicles. Once all 200 cows were yarded, we began work, which involved drafting off registered and commercial cows, any cows with injuries or issues and cows with embryos. These groups were separated to allow easier monitoring as calving is due to start any day. We then ran all cows through and gave them a ScourGuard vaccination to prevent scours in their calves. This took several hours and by the time we were finished and had walked the cattle back to their respective paddocks, it was dark and I was frozen to the bone! After a quick dinner and goodbyes, Brittany and I packed up and headed back to Manhattan for a warm shower and bed.


What a week that was, and I can't wait to see what next week brings!



52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
IMG_9220.JPG

CONTACT

Please feel free to get in touch with any questions or queries!

Home: Contact
bottom of page